What does this really say about women?

Like most women, I will pick up and read a steamy “bodice-ripper” romance from time to time. Not very often though because I find that for the most part (or at least with the ones I’ve read), they’re not really all that well written and they seem pretty darn formulaic and boring.

I get email notices from Barnes and Noble every now and then, mostly because I’ve bought e-books from them once every blue moon or so. And even though I only bought ONE book that was even remotely a bodice-ripper romance (to test out to see if there was an issue with my account, not because I actually wanted to read it), they keep sending me emails telling me about the great sales they’re having on all these books they think I’ll be interested in.

Out of sheer curiosity, I checked out the current top 100 list for their e-books. Out of 100 titles, I counted 30 that were cheesy romances with titles like “The Highlander Takes A Bride” and “50 Ways to Ruin a Rake” and possibly my favorite, “Crash Into Me” (the cover features the torso of a naked man who has a six pack and appears to have his thumbs hooked into the belt loops of his pants). And it makes me wonder why there are so many of these books on the top 100 list. There are plenty of other titles, to be sure, but nearly a third are comprised of bodice rippers.

And I’m forced to wonder, who actually READS all these things? I know I don’t…I don’t find them appealing for the most part. Not at all. But as a woman, it is supposed that I DO in fact like reading these things because they’ve got romance.

Which leads me to the next thought…why DON’T I like reading romance books? I mean, I did when I was younger (probably because that was about as close to actual sex the 15 year old me was gonna get) but now I don’t read them unless there is absolutely nothing left for me to read or I’m bored or I want something that’s really not gonna tax my brain too much because I’m on vacation or something.

Maybe I’ve just outgrown the silly stuff. I don’t know. I don’t really care for romantic movies either, which is probably related to why I don’t read these stupid books. I just have found that I prefer science fiction or fantasy or science fiction COMBINED with fantasy which is even more fun. I’ve been trying to plow my way steadily but surely through George R.R. Martin’s Game of Throne series and I’ve gotten down to the last book in the series that is currently available, “A Dance With Dragons” but I can’t seem to finish it because I keep getting distracted by other books like a new biography of Rosemary Kennedy and Jenny Lawson’s “Furiously Happy” which features a manic-looking raccoon on the cover. I’ll finish “Dance with Dragons” eventually. Maybe.

 

If I don’t get distracted by something else. OOH LOOK. A book by Leah Remini.

And..I’m distracted again.

Leave a Reply

