And now I join the world in waiting

At the end of school back in June, I set myself a challenge. I was going to read all of the books in the Song of Ice and Fire series by the end of summer.

I wasn’t sure if I could do it, since when I’d previously picked up the first book in the series, A Game of Thrones, a couple of years earlier I’d ended up quitting about a third of the way through. It just seemed too dense for me to get through, too many danged pages. And it didn’t help that at the time I didn’t have an E-reader, so I had to carry around the huge hardback copy the library had. And I hated that. It’s one of the many reasons I love my E-reader so much..I can carry easily thirty or forty pounds worth of books in my back pocket or my purse.

Still..I was determined, so I plunged in. And oddly enough, to my surprise, I sped through the first two books within about a six week period. I couldn’t put them down..I was reading every chance I got because I was curious to see what happened next. And this continued, even though I was periodically dipping into other books (mostly Julie Notaro, Wil Wheaton and Jenny Lawson–humorous books to offset the heavy tone and often depressing storylines of the Ice and Fire books), until fall.

That’s when I got to the final two books in the series, A Feast for Crows and A Dance With Dragons. It was like I hit a wall and I just couldn’t read any more. Or rather, I was done with Westeros and the Lannisters and the Tyrells and especially Tyrion and Daenerys (who I really do kind of like. Daenerys is kind of a badass) for awhile. I read other things, Eat Pray Love and The Color Purple and How Stella Got Her Groove Back. By the time Halloween came, I still hadn’t finished A Feast for Crows but I was determined to push on. Somebody on Reddit offered me a epub version of the last two books that was collated together, since A Feast for Crows  and A Dance With Dragons are really two books that should have been one, since they tell the story first from one perspective and then another and it’s highly recommended you don’t read them separately but together.

I’ve just now finished the last (well, before the index of characters anyway) page of the Feast For Crows/Dance With Dragons collated epub. And it left me going, “Oh hell..what the bloody..YOU CAN”T DO THIS TO ME, GEORGE R.R. MARTIN!!” And like the rest of the world, I am eagerly awaiting the release of the next book in the series, The Winds of Winter, which is rumored to come out some time next year.

It’s not very often that I find myself this deeply involved in a book. I mean, I fell head first toes up in love with some of these characters (especially Tyrion and Daenerys) like I haven’t done since I was ten and first read Charlotte’s Web.  And now I find myself on pins and needles, waiting for the next release and dying to know what happens.

I don’t know what I’m going to read in the meantime..somebody suggested I read the Sword of Truth series but I don’t know if I’m ready to plunge myself back into a vaguely medieval-era swords and magic series just yet.

Leave a Reply

