This I don’t get

Maroon 5 doesn’t make sense to me. It’s very confusing how they can sing things like ‘She Will Be Loved’ which has some of the most beautiful lyrics I’ve ever heard and then turn around and sing things that border on the utterly creepy like ‘Animal’.

 

I mean look at this:

I don’t mind spendin’ everyday
Out on your corner in the pourin’ rain
Look for the girl with the broken smile
Ask her if she wants to stay awhile
And she will be loved, and she will be loved

Tap on my window, knock on my door, I
Want to make you feel beautiful
I know I tend to get so insecure
It doesn’t matter anymore

compared to this:

Baby I’m preying on you tonight
Hunt you down, eat you alive
Just like animals, animals, like animals
Maybe you think you that can hide
I can smell your scent for miles
Just like animals, animals, like animals

One is sweet and romantic and the other one is well..flat out predatory. Like it’s totally ok if a guy stalks a woman with the intent to put over on his brand of moves because it’s just part of his “animal” nature. I mean..what the heck? If a man sang ‘She Will Be Loved’ to me, I’d be like “Awwww..how sweet.” Where as if he sang “Animal” to me I’d want to run away because it sounds down right creepy to be singing about a woman that way. Maybe I’m just an old fart, I don’t know. But this just doesn’t sit right with me..makes the man in the song seem like a real jerkoff because he’s gonna find this woman, wherever she is (maybe she doesn’t want to be found?) and force his love on her.

That doesn’t sound like love..it sounds like emotional, mental and possibly physical abuse to me. Way to go, Adam Levine. You have officially creeped me the heck out.

2 thoughts on “This I don’t get

  1. Putting my cynical hat on, I’m guessing their management company bought both songs from song writers – and there’s a spreadsheet somewhere with market research data on the reception of each track…

    Like

    1. This is why I don’t listen to most “pop” music they play on the radios these days. It’s all about how commercial each song can be rather than the music itself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

