ROOTS–An American Family Saga

Recently, I re-read Alex Haley’s Roots and was absolutely enthralled by it. I almost couldn’t put it down.

Now I’d read Roots once before..probably for a high school Lit class or something. I definitely remember seeing at some point the 1977 tv movie adaptation with LeVar Burton as Kunta Kinte. What I’d forgotten was how powerful the story is, how dark and deep the drama. Even though I am white as paper, I felt for the story’s characters–Kunta Kinte, Kizzy, Chicken George.

That’s what good literature does..it makes you feel for the characters, even if you’re nothing like them at all. And Alex Haley is a master at that. The way he writes, he can make you feel every lash of the whip, every broken heart, every single thing his characters are going through.

I thoroughly enjoyed re-reading this American classic and I think if you haven’t read it yet, you should. Because it’s a history lesson we all need to remember to never forget. Slavery is something that still haunts the South and presumably will for a good long time to come.

Leave a Reply

