This is what I need to be “cool” now

I was messing around watching random videos on Youtube, which I do sometimes when I’m not feeling well (I’ve had gastro issues the last four days or so and been feeling rather like refried dog poo).

Apparently, I’ve missed the boat on being “cool” again. Because all the cool kids are now doing something called Bullet Journaling. Or just “BuJo” if you wanna be super cool.

So I decided to do a bit of research to see exactly what this “bullet journaling” thing is. It’s really an overcomplicated (again, in my opinion) way of keeping things organized in a manner that makes everybody else think you are totally with it and very, very cool.

I’m gonna give it a shot. Maybe. I like being organized. I like doodling and apparently there is hand lettering and doodling involved in bullet journaling. A lot of it, possibly. It just seems like an awful lot of WORK though. And that’s something I hate with a passion.

Mostly because I’ll try to start doing this thing to be cool and end up doing it wrong. Because there is apparently a way to do it wrong even though the creator (some designer guy from New York ) has said “There’s really no wrong way to do it.” Sorry designer guy from New York. Over 100 different Pinterest people (at least that I saw when I searched the term on Pinterest) say you’re wrong. There is a right way and a wrong way to do this and if you don’t do it right, you might as well not do it at all.

 

Which is something I have an issue with. I’m left handed, which means I almost never do anything the ‘right’ way because while I am ambidextrous to a point, I really dislike using my right hand unless I absolutely have to because I can’t do the thing I want to do one handed (like typing. I could type one handed but it would take foreeeever). I’m also, as PeeWee Herman is famous for saying,”A loner. A rebel.” I like finding my own way of doing things even if it’s not the conventional or “right” way to do things. I’m the person who looks at the instructions for how to do something and says “Yeah, screw that. Imma figure this out on my OWN thank you very much.” Doing things the “right” way never really has appealed to me much.

Which is why I had teachers in school who I’m pretty sure hated my guts because they would teach the class how to do X in Y fashion and then I’d go over here and come up with another way to do it and STILL get the right answer. I got the feeling that bugged them to death because I wasn’t following the directions.

Sometimes though..you gotta follow your own direction and not the one laid out for you. Sometimes I’m good at this..sometimes not.

2 thoughts on “This is what I need to be “cool” now

  1. I just watched the into video about bullet journalling on Youtube. It’s an interesting idea, but I can’t help feeling it’s the latest trendy re-imagining of a hundred similar schemes that have come before. I have a Filofax to do all the papery type stuff, and a Moleskine to empty my head into 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

