I’m going to ADULT..but I’m not sure if I like that

So next Wednesday, our local library is having their monthly book club meeting. I’ve always kinda wanted to go, but most of the books (at least from what I’ve seen by stalking their website) have been really high-class, hoity toity intelligent things that I wouldn’t ever read or understand anyway. Like Anna Karenina…I tried to read that once and couldn’t get into it at all. I tried. Honest to Flying Spaghetti Monster, I did. But I just couldn’t do it.

This month’s selection though, is a book that’s right up my alley–Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. I’ve read it probably a thousand times and it makes me literally roll on the floor laughing every time. Now THIS is a book I can discuss without feeling like a total idiot. And because I don’t want to be one of those people (even though I totally probably am), I’ve ordered a paperback copy from Barnes and Noble (where I still had about 30 bucks in gift card money, which is kind of like Monopoly money..it exists, but it doesn’t exist and it’s only good at the store you have the gift card for) as well. The USPS tracking website tells me my book (one of two that I ordered..I also ordered a copy of her other book, Furiously Happy) is somewhere in Nevada. I just hope it arrives before I have to go to the meeting.

 

My mother in law, who is totally amazing by the way and makes me SO glad I don’t have one of those horrible mother in laws that everybody talks about because they’re playing the “My In Laws Are Worse Than Your In Laws Because..” game, has agreed to come pick up my son for a “date” so I can go adult in peace. Yay.

I just hope they like me and I’m not too..I don’t know..weird..or something..for them. I hate it when I’m too weird for people.

You have to be pretty weird though, I think, to be too weird for normal people.

Which I just might be.

 

I don’t know. Is there a weirdness scale or an internet test I can take to determine if I”m too weird for people?

If there isn’t..there should be, dadgummit.

Leave a Reply

