This is just another brick and I’m a….sledgehammer?

Last year, I decided I was going to do a couch to 5K program. I mean, I was ready. I had running shoes. I bought new shiny spandexy yoga pants and special socks that had padded bits on the heel. I bought jogging bras that made kept my boobs from jiggling all over the place when I moved faster than a sedate stroll. I was READY.

And my body failed me. The first two or three weeks were OK, but once I got to around week 4 or so, my digestive tract began to act up. Every time I went out for a run, I got runner’s trots. So I tried different strategies..run in the morning, pre-coffee and breakfast. Nope. Didn’t work. I drank a crapton of water before I ran, which only made me feel like I had to pee the entire time and didn’t do squat for my runner’s trots. I tried not drinking before I ran. That didn’t work either. So I gave up because I was sick and tired of trying (and admittedly, sometimes failing) to make it the mile and a half to the nearest 7-11 where I’d slink to the back, use their bathroom and then slink back out with embarrassment.

I want to try it again..maybe this time I’ll figure out a way to not have my digestive system want to implode every time I run. I don’t know. But I want to try anyway because when I was running and not feeling like something was trying to chew its way out from inside my colon, I really enjoyed it.

 

Leave a Reply

