Taking stock and making changes

My 38th birthday is coming in two weeks, so I’m going to take a page out of Wil Wheaton’s book by taking stock and making changes and then grading myself on those changes every month.

 

Here are the things I want to change.

1. Pay more attention to the amount of food I put in my body.

This is really important as I’ve had..well..issues with food over the years. I’m not disgustingly obese..yet. But I am significantly overweight compared to where I’m supposed to be (130 lbs or so) and I need to pay more attention to how much food I’m actually eating. I’ve already started logging all the food I eat on a daily basis and noticing how some days I do good and other days I do really, REALLY badly. I need to work on not eating when I feel sad, lonely, depressed or bored.

2. Exercise more.

Exercise is something I’ve put on the back burner for a long time. I recently bought a yoga mat and my goal is to do yoga at least 3 times a week and walk the 3.25 mile trip between my house and the 7-11 at least twice a week.

3. Meditate more.

After I had a miscarriage a couple years ago, I started meditating as a way to sort of regain my sanity after I had a pretty serious mental breakdown. It’s been hit or miss though. I’ve finally gotten myself some mala beads and I want to try and meditate every day, at least once a day.

That’s it. I may add more stuff later, as I think on it. But that’s enough to get me started.

2 thoughts on “Taking stock and making changes

Leave a Reply

