24 Weeks Or How I Stopped Worrying and Learned to Love Myself

So this afternoon, after working out this morning and doing a few things around the house, I laid down. I didn’t sleep, but I did close my eyes and imagine what it would be like if I were suddenly offered the chance to do my own little version of Eat, Pray, Love. I would call it 24 Weeks or How I Stopped Worrying and Learned How To Love Myself. I imagined some awesome publishing house would call and send an editor or whoever to meet with me to explain that they wanted to give me enough money for me to travel as well as allow my husband to take a 24 week leave of absence from his terribly stressful job to care for our son.  I ran to the nearest Barnes and Noble and immediately purchased a half dozen yellow  Moleskine notebooks and some really nice pens so I could document for all time what would be going on in my head and heart. The next stop was Best Buy, to purchase a cheap little netbook so I could type up and send into my editor via Google Docs what I’d written in my Moleskines.

I even sat down at one point and wrote out a loose plan of how things would go.

Weeks 1-8–The Two Rs–Rest and Recovery

I would spend the first eight weeks somewhere warm and sunny where I could relax on the beach with a frozen cocktail and a book all day.

Weeks 9-16–Reflection

I’d spend the middle 8 weeks somewhere in India or perhaps Thailand at a Buddhist monastrey (which my Spellcheck insists is spelled wrong even though Google tells me that word is spelled correctly) getting my head on straight and focusing on deepening my spiritual practice.

Weeks 17-24 Putting it all together

Weeks 17-25 would be comprised of travel, ideally throughout England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales learning how to balance the mundane and the divine.

It’s never going to happen..I know that. But I can dream…..

2 thoughts on “24 Weeks Or How I Stopped Worrying and Learned to Love Myself

Leave a Reply

