The year of reading Robert Fulghum

I was a very odd child, growing up. When I was in middle school, while everybody was reading..whatever they were reading…I devoured authors that should have been far beyond my years like Garrison Keillor and Robert Fulghum (he of the “Everything I Ever Needed To Know I Learned in Kindergarten” fame).

Because I am a nerd, and particularly fond of books as well, I sometimes like to throw personal challenges at my own brain to see if they can be accomplished. A couple of years ago I came up with the Summer of Ice and Fire challenge, where I challenged myself to read all of George R.R. Martin’s Ice and Fire series before school started in August (I’d started in May). I didn’t finish until December or so, but I did it. Even if I didn’t do it in the time frame I’d originally set out (life sometimes goes that way), I still managed within a period of about 6 months to read over 3,000 pages (that’s assuming each book is around 700 pages or so. I haven’t looked but that seems about right). THREE THOUSAND PAGES, y’all. That’s a LOT of words.

January is typically when people set for themselves unrealistic resolutions that they give up on by the second or third week, if not sooner. I’m going to set myself a realistic resolution though.

I am going to read every book every written by Robert Fulghum, starting with the one that started it all, “Everything I Ever Need To Know I Learned in Kindergarten” (which is now on hold for me at the public library since I no longer own a copy).

Somehow I’m going to make time to read all of his books (none of which, as I remember, are terribly long) between the books I have to read for my monthly book club (this month’s book is Jenny Lawson’s “Furiously Happy” which I’ve read about a thousand times since its release and own two copies of–one in hardback and one in e-book form) as well as the books I am selected to read for NetGalley.

But I will make the time and maybe even post a review here once I’m done. I haven’t figured that part out yet.

Leave a Reply

