In which I learn I am NOT well suited for modern club dancing

Once upon a time, many moons ago, I aspired to be a Broadway chorus girl. I was an OK singer and a mediocre at best dancer, but that’s what chorus lines are for right? To hide the mediocre dancers in the back while the REAL hotshots up front dance their pants off and shine brilliantly.

So, for Christmas we thought it would be  BRILLIANT idea to buy my son Just Dance Disney 2, or whatever it’s called. His PT and his OT want him up and moving around more than he has been lately (because he’s got that dreaded Teenage Lazy-itis) and I thought this would be a good way to do it.

Just for giggles, I decided I would give it a shot myself today since it’s the in-between day when I don’t (per my every other day instructions for Couch to 5K) have to run. I thought since it’s cold outside it would be a great way to get some exercise.

Those young, talented onscreen dancers wiped the floor with me because I am old and flabby and out of shape and was never that good of a dancer even when I was young and toned and thin and danced 4-5 days a week in my musical theater class.

I’m just glad I skipped the whole going out and getting drunk and going to clubs to dance my pants off phase that most people seem to go through in their early to mid 20s. I was too busy being married and working. Because I surely would’ve made a fool of myself. It was made clear to me from 5 songs (which totally had me out of breath) that I am not suited AT ALL for this limb-flailing, top-like-spinning, jumping all over the place kind of dancing that I guess is all the rage with kids these days. I’m not sure what kind of dancing I AM suited for anymore, but that ain’t it.

Leave a Reply

