Let’s try this again, shall we?

OK so earlier, my life reboot check in post went poof. Who knows where, right?

1. Be more mindful of the food I’m putting into my body.

This month, I’m giving myself a B+…I’ve stopped logging every bite I eat with My Fitness Pal because.well…I just don’t want to anymore. It’s a big freaking hassle and I’m tired of it, ok? I am, however, being more mindful of my portion sizes and trying to eat smaller portions. And I think that most days I do fairly OK with this. There have been days when I utterly failed (Imma looking at you, Memphis Pulled Pork BBQ and Santa Fe Spicy Chicken pizzas at CiCi’s. LOL) but most days I do fairly OK. So that’s good.

2. Keep the house picked up more.

Since I’m only working two days a week at best (or like this week, none at all) I’m doing a LOT lot better with this. Most days I’m able to manage to get several loads of laundry done as well as give the house a nice little once over. It’s not a deep cleaning by any means, but the bathrooms get cleaned, the bed gets made (except when my husband is in it LOL) and the floors get swept and then I vacuum them with the stick vac to get up anything I missed with the broom. There are rarely stacks of dishes in or near the sink anymore and the laundry room is hardly ever so full of laundry baskets filled with laundry that I can’t get in there. So I’m giving myself an A+ this month on that one. Go me!

3.Exercise More.

I’m doing better with this also. I’ve started…failed..and started AGAIN a couch to 5K program. The only week so far that I haven’t exercised at all was the one week we had a wicked Artic cold front hit us and it actually snowed on one of those days. So the following week, when the weather was far less shitty, I started the program all over again. I’m now up to week 3, day 2 (that’s today!) and while some days have been really hard for me, I feel like I’m making progress. On Monday when I was at the end of my run I passed a guy by moving over to the grassy area next to the sidewalk. As I passed him he said to me “Girl, why you working out? You look real good just the way you are.” As I was at the end of my run and I’d been running up hill for the last 10 min or so, I was sweaty and really freaking gross. I still grinned my butt off all the way home. So A+ here too, for not giving up and for getting a compliment even though I was a hot mess.

4. Meditate more.

This is the one thing I’m still having trouble with. I just keep finding excuses to not get my ass on the cushion and sit. HOWEVER..I have downloaded an app that spits out a bit of Buddhist scripture every day which I write in my personal journal along with any thoughts, etc I have about that bit of scripture. Which is sort of like a way of meditating, right? Does that count? The reason I wanted to learn to meditate was not just so I could learn to shut my mind up but also because I was..I AM..seeking my own inner spirituality. And since inner spirituality is really the goal behind the goal here, I’m counting my daily scripture reading/writing as a win. So B+

I’m doing better this month (January) than I have since I started this whole thing, which means the process is working. YAY!!!

I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
‘Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No, I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail
I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
‘Til I reach the end and then I’ll start again
No, I won’t leave, I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail–Shakira, “Try Everything”

Leave a Reply

