The Quest for Raktajino

I am a geek…I say it loud, I say it proud. And lately, my morning cuppa decaf just isn’t getting the job done.  I used to drink regular coffee but I quit because I was pregnant and caffeine during pregnancy is either something you should do or something you shouldn’t (depending on who you ask, I suppose), but I was betting heavily on the something you don’t do side.

So even though I’ve been a decaf drinker for awhile now, I still miss that rush that caffeine used to give me in the mornings. And on nights when I’ve not slept much because of my periodic bouts of insomnia, I NEED that hit of energy to get me going so I don’t schlump through the morning.

I am, at least in my head, a total bad ass. And a bad ass needs to drink the bad assiest of bad ass coffees, not some wimpy drink. And to a geek, the bad assiest of bad ass coffees is Klingon raktajino. Raktajino will put hair on your chest and probably make you sprout forehead ridges. It is THAT bad ass.

Unfortunately, it’s also totally made up and therefore there is no standard recipe. Some recipes I’ve found say you have to use espresso (which can only truly be CALLED espresso if you make it with an expensive espresso machine, of course), some call for powdered instant coffee, some call for the hottest dried/ground peppers you can find. It’s a mess.

But most of the recipes I’ve come across all agree on a few things. You have to use allspice, you have to have cinnamon. Chocolate may or may not be involved but it usually is because even Klingons love chocolate apparently.

And bonus for me? It looks like most, if not all, of the ingredients can be found at the local Dollar Tree. Which means I’ll be able to make this for cheap. Yay.

So here’s the recipe I’m going to use, courtesy of K’Tesh’s (surprisingly still existant because I thought they all went toe up years ago) Geocities page.

 

1.5 cups powdered non dairy creamer

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup  unsweetened cocoa powder (she doesn’t say what kind, but I’m going to assume the darker the better)

6 Tbsp instant coffee powder (again..she doesn’t specify here but I’m going to use powdered espresso if I can find it)

1/2 tsp ground allspice

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

pinch dried cayenne powder (this is is NOT in K’Tesh’s recipe but a lot of folks agree that raktajino should have a bit of a spicy kick so I’m throwing it in there because I like spicy. I’ve also heard that spicy and chocolate go well together so, there’s that too)

 

I’m going shopping for the ingredients to make this either this afternoon after work or Tuesday (probably Tuesday more than likely) and I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Q’apla!

 

Leave a Reply

