Writer’s Block

In my stolen moments, here and there, I’m a writer. Or at least that’s what I tell myself. I write blog posts. I write (or I have in the past anyway) terrible fan fiction. I write out comments on other blogs. I’ve even attempted, a couple times anyway, to write The Great American Novel.

But lately, I’ve had pretty severe writer’s block. I don’t know what I want to write about or how to go about doing it. I don’t have a SYSTEM the way a good writer is apparently SUPPOSED to do. I don’t map out characters or plot points or any of that. I just write and whatever ends up on the page (or screen rather) is what is supposed to be there I guess.

Camp NaNoWriMo is coming up in a month and I just..IDK. I want to participate but I don’t know what, if anything, I’m going to write about. I suppose I could take a second stab at the novel I started (and then accidentally deleted D:) back in November about a teenage girl and her pet unicorn who smokes, drinks and sleeps around because he’s an immortal being so OF COURSE he can do that. He was partly inspired by Denis Leary, who I adore because he’s a beautifully foul mouthed poet.

I don’t know. I want to write, but I just..I guess I’ll have to see where I am in a month and see what comes out of my brain which doesn’t seem terribly inspired at the moment. They always say “Write what you know.” but what I know is so BORING and has been done eighty four bazillion times. If I write what I do not know, I come off as fake and a poser.

What’s a writer to do?

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. Sending hugs, cause I’ve been there (still kind of am) and it sucks. And even without knowing the plot, I love the idea of an off color unicorn, although are there are other unicorns he’s sleeping around with, or what? Ha ha. Good luck, and keep writing!

    Like

    1. Well, in the puke draft (as Wil Wheaton calls it), there are only a handful of other unicorns, so he’s mostly sleeping with whoever is around. Which is mostly horses. And no, the babies aren’t unicorns although they do have some of his residual magic which makes things interesting for their owners. LOL There was also a monkey who sorta followed him around because the unicorn saved his life and shit.

      Basically, the plot (what there was of one) was that this several hundred years old, bored as heck, horny unicorn had fallen in love with a teenage girl and he had a problem. He could either choose to use up the last of his magic and turn himself human for her and become mortal OR use up the last of his magic to make her immortal so he could be with her forever.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, sounds like it’s something that should be written about ha ha. I’m intrigued. Also “puke draft” is a great term, that’s really what it feels like a lot of the time. I wish you well, whatever you choose to write!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “Write what you know” shouldn’t be taken literally, although it does help get the pencil going if you just start with a stream-of-consciousness. What it really means is that you should know what you want to write, read your genre, do a bit of research.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

