They Don’t Make ‘Em Like They Used To

So my husband comes home from work and sees that I’m watching a movie.

B: Whatchoo watchin?

Me: Stand By Me.

B: Isn’t that..Wesley Crusher? And that dude from Sliders?

Me: Yes.

B:  Don’t they almost get hit by a train?

Me: That was like, 20 min ago.

B: Oh ok. I’ve never seen this movie all the way through.

Me: O.O What? You’re only 3 years older than me. How is that even possible?

B: IDK..I just..never have I guess.

Me: You need to sit down and watch this later this weekend.

B: Um..OK.

According to Google, Stand By Me was released in 1986, when I was about seven years old. I probably didn’t see it when it came out..I don’t think my mom would’ve let me. I probably didn’t see it until a few years later when I was maybe ten or eleven and it was on HBO at my grandmother’s house. Watching it tonight for the first time probably since high school, I sat and wondered how the filmmakers got away with the main actors (who were all about 13-14, if I’m not mistaken) cussing so much. I mean..isn’t there a law against that or something? And I also caught a joke that previously  had gone RIGHT over my head.

Teddy:  Look, you guys can go around if you want to; I’m crossing here. And while you guys are dragging your candy asses halfway across the state and back, I’ll be waiting for you on the other side, relaxing with my thoughts.

Gordie: You use your right hand or your left hand for that?

*whooosh*

 

Yeah that was the sound it made when that joke went about ten feet over my head the last time this movie. This time I happened to catch it and laughed my ass off.

 

They don’t make movies like this anymore..maybe it’s because stories like this aren’t getting written anymore. Or maybe because it’s because Hollywood thinks all they have to do is rehash something from 20 years ago and they’ll make bank. I don’t know. But I do know that stories like this don’t seem to be around as much now as they were when I was a kid. The last one, the last REALLY original movie I think I saw was years ago when Secondhand Lions was released. Another classic that harks back to the golden years of my youth even though I was in my mid-20s when it came out.

The kids growing up today, they just don’t get the same kinds of movies that will be so nostalgic for them when they’re older. I mean, how can you be nostalgic for a film when the franchise has been done to death and the same damn movie has been made like six times in a ten year period? (Spiderman, I’m looking at you. You too, Transformers.) Geeze.

Here, Hollywood. Here’s a couple of real dead horses and a great big stick. Why don’t you go beat on them for awhile?

6 thoughts on “They Don’t Make ‘Em Like They Used To

    1. SO MANY REBOOTS! And most of them are terrible, though I do admit I love the Star Trek reboots (except Into Darkness) and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie reboots. Those were adorable. 😀 I haven’t seen the Power Rangers movie yet, but I want to. I had SUCH a crush on the White Tiger Ranger when I was in middle school or thereabouts. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Too many sequels as well! They just kill story lines that way.

        Only saw the 1st Turtles and first 2 Star Trek movies. And same, have yet to see the Power Rangers. I look forward to seeing that one because they changed up the origin and I’m interested to see how the story changes.

        Like

      2. Oh you need to see the second Turtles movie, “OUt of the shadows” (I think it’s on Hulu now)..it is SO good. 😀 And I like the first and third Star Trek movies, but not the second one so much. The second one bugs me because they literally picked THE WHITEST GUY ON THE FRIGGING PLANET to play an ethnic role. Whitewashing much? Geeze.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. At least in the original (the TOS episode Space Seed and the second movie, Wrath of Khan) they used a sort of ethnic actor who pulled it off in the most badass way imaginable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

