This is why you don’t attempt to craft at 2 am

I could NOT sleep last night. Like..at all. I tried for over an hour to go to sleep an eventually got back up to go do..something. I decided to take some of the fat quarters that were residing in my craft supplies and make a new case for my Kindle e-reader even though I have THREE cases for the thing already (two knit, one crochet).

Because I am absolutely crap at hand sewing, I first attempted to stick everything together with iron-on hem tape and that..didn’t work very well. Or else, because I was tired and stuff, I wasn’t doing it right. So I gave up, threw that batch of fabric in the trash and started over. This time, I took my time, sewed everything and it seemed to succeed.



 

I also took one of my husband’s old work badges and pried the magnet off it for the closure. Now, Amazon assures me (or at least the nice guy with the Indian sounding name who was on the live chat with me at 3 am did) that the magnet will do absolutely no harm to my device. I trust them.

I love the fabrics I used…the inner fabric’s design is the same as the outer fabric’s only smaller. It has kind of a 60s hippie flower child kind of vibe and I like that. It’s cute.

But as you can see in the second picture, my stitching is for crap. It’s even worse at 2 am when I’m not exactly awake enough to pay close attention to what I’m doing and I really am just trying to power through so that MAYBE this time when I go to bed I’ll ACTUALLY fall asleep. Which I did..around 3 am. I woke up around 9 still feeling absolutely crap and I’ve been struggling to pull myself together all day. Maybe some lunch will help and I’ll be able to get some things done this afternoon. I hope.

2 thoughts on “This is why you don’t attempt to craft at 2 am

  1. Yes, a magnet will not harm the kindle. I have a magnet closing clasp on my kindle paperwhite’s case. This case was sold by Amazon specifically for it….so no worries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

